New Sharon
New Sharon Entry SignProgress-Pride-Working Together

better known as - New Sharon, Iowa was developed in 1856 and occupies approximately one square mile in Mahaska county. Today, it is a friendly little town of approximately 1300 people - way out in the middle of everywhere - 12 miles north of Oskaloosa, 17 miles south of Grinnell and 15 miles east of Pella. Through more than a century and a half of growth, our town has kept its charm and beauty.

Official City of New Sharon Web Site:


(Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Census 2010)

Population: 1,293
Total Area (in square miles): 0.94
Land Area (in square miles): 0.94
Water Area (in square miles): 0

Housing Units

Total Housing Units: 590
Occupied Housing Units: 538
Vacant Housing Units: 52
Seasonal, Recreational, or occasional use: NA

Mahaska County Labor Force (Source:Iowa Workforce Development)
May 2016 (April 2016 in parenthesis)
Not seasonally adjusted - Benchmark: 2014

Resident Civilian Labor Force 11,920 (11,950)
Resident Unemployed: 430 (440)
Percent Unemployed: 3.6 (3.7)
Resident Total Employed: 11,480 (11,500)
Labor Mgmt. Disputes
(# Persons)
0 (0)

(Note: Labor Force Statistics are only available county-wide through IWD)

Location and Map

View Larger Map

Government Information

Dustin Hite
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

City Clerk
Lisa Munn
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
641.637.4124 (City Hall)

City Council Members:

Kenneth Ward
Zack Pickard
Larry Applegate

(Not available)

City Hall: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

All ordinances can be accessed on the city's web site,

Meeting Notices
City Council meetings are held at the City Hall at 7:00 p.m. on the first Monday and third Wednesday of each month. Agenda items must be submitted to the City Clerk twenty-four hours in advance of each meeting.

Special Events:
See Community Calendar for specific dates and times.

In the News


Community Information

Who to call:

Gas & Electeric Mid American Energy 888-427-5632
Telephone Iowa Telecom 877-901-4692
Cable TV Mediacom 800-798-8014
Garage LDI 866-637-1404
Water & Sewer City of New Sharon 641-637-4124
Library 641-637-4049
Post Office 641-637-4145
City Hall 641-637-4124

Building permits are required and can be obtained at City Hall.
Building permit fees vary depnding upon the size and type of structure being constructed.

Contact the City Clerk for cigarette permits and liquor licenses. Cost varies.

Back to the top.

Churches, Clubs & Organizations:

Assembly of God Church
208 E Maple St

Capri Theatre Restoration Committee
Contact: Val Jess 641-637-2738 or Sam Hudson 641-637-4014
The Capri Theatre is run by community volunteers. Those interested in
volunteering should contact Val or Sam. Movies are shown at approximately 7 pm and 9 pm on Friday night and Saturday night. There is also a 2 pm Sunday matinee. The ticket price is $1.50 per person.

First Christian Church
201 W High

First Presbyterian Church
301 S Pine

Friends Church
302 S Main St

Mills Christian Church
1403 Parkin Ave.

Garden Club
Contact: Alice Hudson, 641-637-2541

Historical Society
Contact: Austin Osmond, 641-637-2366
Alice Hudson, 641-637-2541
The Historical Society meets the first Thursday of every month at 7 p.m. at the Quillin Building.

Lions Club
Contact: Austin Osmond, 641-637-2366.
The Lions Club meets the first Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m. at the New Sharon Retirement Homes meeting room.

New Sharon Recreation & Economic Development Foundation (NSREDF)
Contact: Ralph Ihde, 641-637-2763 [e-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ]

The NSREDF is a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing the community of New Sharon through funding of projects and programs designed to benefit the community and develop leadership. Funds will be used to match other funds or in-kind efforts. The NSREDF should not be the sold support for a project or program. The NSREDF will focus on concerns for small projects involving $1000 or less and larger projects for over $1000. Applications are available upon request from any NSREDF member or can be picked up at City Hall during regular business hours. Members: Jim Hargis, Steve Harkema, Al Hodgeman, Ralph Ihde, Janine Larson, Karen McGriff, Lee Munson, Austin Osmond, Susan Upton, and Lynnae Van Genderen.

New Sharon United Methodist Church
200 Weat Market Street

New Sharon Volunteer Fire Department
Contact: Austin Osmond, 641-637-2366
The Volunteer Fire Department meets the second Monday of every month at 6:30 p.m. at the Fire Station.

Prairie Knolls Country Club
Contact: Dale Johnson, 641-637-9302

Skunk River Saddle Club
Contact: Julie Hoksbergen, 641-637-4576

Spring Festival Committee
Contact: Ralphi Munson, 641-637-2602